Boho Chic-a term I dislike.

Standard

I don’t know why I have such a hate-on for the term boho chic.  Perhaps because it all seems a bit contrived,  both the fashion style and the decor style.  The boho chic decor style has a stiff look.  It looks styled and that is exactly what bohemianism is not.  There is also a tendency for there to be far too much pink for my taste.

Having said that, I sometimes find images labeled boho chic where I can find something appealing, be it one or two items, or the colours.  I just wouldn’t copy the whole look.

source unknown to me

Someone with a true bohemian spirit decorates with abandon, or is artistically minimalist, living only with basic supplies and what is needed for her art, whereas bohemian chic is all about adding a few kilims or the bright colours to your mixed modern and vintage decor.

 

These are all pretty rooms.  It just irritates me that term boho chic.  It tries too hard.

 

Leave a comment