My Gemini Dream

Standard

I actually don’t put any faith in astrology, but as a Gemini I am supposedly of a fickle nature, of twin minds so to speak.  In truth I am not fickle at all, but I do sometimes have two minds, or at least I do when it comes to the home interiors I am attracted to.  What’s a girl to do when she loves this….

image via headoverheels.blogspot.com

and this….

image via myfrenchcountryhome.blogspot.com

Well……I try to find something that blends the two.  The element that seems to be in strongest opposition is colour.  One uses rich earthy tones and jewel tones while the other uses a blend of neutrals and focuses on variety of texture.  So I look for what they have in common and I bring items into my home trusting that if I love it can make it work.

Features in common include patina and texture that adds a richness that comes from time worn and well loved furniture that gets more beautiful with age because it was well made to begin with.  I love colour, but creams, browns and whites are also colours I love.  Instead of treating them as layers of neutrals they become part of the many colours I surround myself with.

image via headoverheels.blogspot.com

image via headoverheels.blogspot.com

image via jansseninteriors.blogspot.com

image via habituallychic.blogspot.com

image via anindiansummer.blogspot.com

Texture like this, combines beautifully with colours like this.

image via artsyblogspot.com

image via diyonlinemag.com

image via bohemianbedding.com

image via vandm.com

image via homefurnituredb.com

Mix antiques and reclaimed wood…..

image via vastinterior.co.nz

with vintage industrial….

and a touch of modern.

image via beinteriordecorator.com

This image below combines the modern clean lines of a tall narrow table, layered with a detailed antique table that fits just underneath.  I love it!

image via anindiansummer.blogspot.com

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

