Garden Ponds

Standard

I have my own ideas about what makes a beautiful garden pond and what is a tacky disaster.  I would love a garden pond but only if it can be a beautiful one.  Size doesn’t matter, but the pond should make sense in its surroundings and not look like it was just a weekend project plunked down and decorated as an isolated event.

image via dscottlandscape.com

image via landscapegardeningedinbugh.co.uk

image via garden.onsugar.com

image via waterfeatures.co.uk

image via life123.com

This is a pretty pond, but I’m not sure about that rectangular slab on the right.  It doesn’t look natural.

image via wiseacre-gardens.com

Smaller ponds are more difficult to integrate into the garden and make them look natural.  Sometimes people choose to use this as a design feature. How about a pond in a bath tub?

image via wikibase.com

image via penick.net

image via nationalinsectweek.co.uk

image via thegardensmith.co.uk

image via penick.net

This one makes me want to dip my feet in. Nothing slimy in here!  I don’t know how they keep the water so clear but I love the smooth stones on the bottom and the clear simplicity of the water. I think this would look beautiful with my white garden!

Leave a Reply

